Shortly after adjourning the 2018 Fiscal Session, members elected Rep. Matthew Shepherd of El Dorado as Speaker-designate.


At the beginning of each Regular Session, a motion is made to confirm the Speaker-designate as the Speaker of the House.


Rep. Shepherd is serving his 4th term in the House and currently chairs the House Judiciary Committee.